Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

The Presidential Library system

Each of the 12 Presidential Libraries, which are part of the Presidential Library System, was built with private funds, and each is administered by the federal government under the auspices of the National Archives and Record Administration (NARA). Link to more information about Presidential Libraries.

FAQ: Which was the first Presidential Library?

The first Presidential Library in the National Archives system was the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library in Hyde Park, New York, dedicated June 30, 1941.

FAQ: Where are the other Presidential Libraries?


1. Franklin D. Roosevelt Library June 30, 1941

Hyde Park, New York
2. Harry S. Truman Library July 6, 1957 Independence, Missouri
3. Dwight D. Eisenhower Library May, 1962 Abilene, Kansas
4. Herbert Hoover Library August 10, 1962 West Branch, Iowa

5. Lyndon Baines Johnson Library May, 1971

Austin, Texas
6. John F. Kennedy Library October 20, 1979 Boston, Massachusetts
7. Gerald R. Ford Library April, 1981 Ann Arbor, Michigan
8. Jimmy Carter Library October 1, 1986 Atlanta, Georgia

9. Ronald Reagan Library November, 1991

Simi Valley, California
10. George Bush Library November, 1997

College Station, Texas

11. William J. Clinton Library November, 2004

Little Rock, Arkansas

12. Richard M. Nixon Library July, 2007

Yorba Linda, California