Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<December 1952 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Monday, December 22, 1952
    [Public Papers: Letter to the Chairman, National Security Resources Board, Concerning the Report of the President's Materials Policy Commission]
10:00 am (Staff)
10:55 am (Colonel Ray Roberts) OFF THE RECORD
11:00 am Congressman Victor Wickersham, Oklahoma
(Called Mr. Matthew Connelly last week and asked for this)
11:15 am (Miss Rose Ella Dwyer, formerly of Kansas City) OFF THE RECORD
(Works in Department of Interior; at one time worked for
late Dr. Czarlinsky in Kansas City, and at that time knew
the President; wished to shake hands before the President
11:30 am Mr. Lewis J. Hines, Legislative Representative of American
Federation of Labor
(Dr. John R. Steelman accompanied Mr. Hines. Dr. John R. Steelman
said that Mr. Hines, a republican, asked if he might come in and tell
the President how much he admired the way he conducted his
office, etc.)
11:45 am Congressman Frank M. Karsten, of Missouri
(Called Mr. Matthew Connelly last week and asked for this.)
12:15 pm Honorable Stanley Woodward, Ambassador to Canada
(Came in to wish the President a Merry Christmas - arranged
through State)
1:00 pm (LUNCH)
3:00 pm (Miss Margaret L. Coit) OFF THE RECORD
(Mr. Roger Tubby accompanied and arranged. Mr. David Stowe also arranged.
Miss Coit is writing biography of Bernard Baruch)
3:30 pm (Mr. Robert Nixon) OFF THE RECORD
(Mr. Roger Tubby arranged and accompanied Mr. Nixon)
4:00 pm Honorable Frederick Lawton, Director, Bureau of the Budget
Honorable W. Averell Harriman, Director for Mutual Security
Honorable William Foster, Deputy Secretary of Defense
Honorable Elmer Staats, Assistant Director, Bureau of the Budget

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.