Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<June 1951 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Tuesday, June 12, 1951
9:10 am (General Omar Bradley, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff) OFF THE RECORD
9:45 am (Admiral Sidney Souers)
(Mr. James Lay) OFF THE RECORD
10:00 am BIG FOUR
Honorable Alben Barkley, The Vice President
Honorable Sam Rayburn, The Speaker of the House
Senator Ernest W. McFarland, Majority Leader of the Senate (Arizona)
Congressman John W. McCormack, Majority Leader of the House (Mass.)
11:00 am Honorable Paul M. Herzog, Chairman, National Labor Relations Board
(Called Mr. Connelly last week and asked for this.)
11:15 am Congressman Henry M. Jackson, Washington
(Called Mr. Connelly last week and asked for this.)
11:30 am (Mr. Martin A. Lewis) OFF THE RECORD
(Of Springfield, Illinois. Came to see Mr. Connelly and saw the
President Off the Record.)
12:00 pm Honorable Gordon E. Dean, Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission
(Half-hour to report results of recent tests at Eniwetok.)
12:20 pm (Honorable Stanley Woodward, American Ambassador to Canada) OFF THE RECORD
12:30 pm Honorable George C. Marshall, the Secretary of Defense
(Usual Tuesday appointment; his office felt sure he would have
returned, and the Secretary did keep the appointment.)
1:00 pm (LUNCH)
3:00 pm (Mr. Joseph Feeney, Legislative Assistant to the President)
(Mrs. M. J. O'Toole)
Mrs. O'Toole is Mr. Feeney's mother-in-law) OFF THE RECORD
3:05 pm (Honorable A. Devitt Vanech, Assistant Attorney General, Lands Division)
Mr. and Mrs. Gambino)
Mr. Salvatore T. Gambino) OFF THE RECORD
3:15 pm Congressman James G. Fulton, Pennsylvania
3:30 pm Honorable William M. Boyle, Jr., Chairman, Democratic National Committee
(Usual Tuesday appointment)

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.