Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<June 1950 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Thursday, June 22, 1950
10:30 am Press and Radio Conference [Public Papers]
11:00 am (Staff Meeting)
11:30 am The President received members of Public Lands Committee of the
House of Representatives as follows:
Congressman J. Hardin Peterson, Florida
Congressman John R. Murdock, Arizona
Congressman Wayne H. Aspinall, Colorado
Congressman Walter G. Baring, Nevada
Congressman Frank A. Barrett, Wyoming (R)
Congressman Jay LaFevre, New York (R)
Congressman Reva Beck Bosone, Utah
Congressman Edward H. Jenison, Illinois (R)
Congressman John E. Miles, New Mexico
Congressman A. L. Miller, Nebraska (R)
Congressman Harry P. O'Neill, Pennsylvania
Congressman Dean P. Taylor, New York (R)
Congressman Compton I. White, Idaho
Mr. Claude E. Ragan, Clerk of Committee
(Congressman White asked Mr. Matthew Connelly to arranged this as they
wish to present to the President a special volume on the
revision of the mining laws of the United States)
11:45 am Honorable Thomas B. McCabe, Chairman, Board of Governors, Federal
Reserve System
(Called Mr. Matthew Connelly last week to ask for this)
12:00 pm Mr. M. C. Migel, Chairman, Board of Trustees, American Foundation
for the Blind, Inc.
(Is resigning and wanted to come in and see the President before
giving up his post)
12:15 pm Congressman Jere Cooper, Tennessee
(Called Mr. Matthew Connelly last week to ask for this)
12:30 pm Honorable James E. Webb, the Under Secretary of State
(Mr. Dean Acheson out of town - this is usual Thursday appointment
for State)
12:55 pm (The President left for Mayflower Hotel)
1:00 pm (Luncheon at Mayflower Hotel for Democratic Governors)
  The following governors were present:
  FOLSOM, James E. Alabama
  GARVEY, Dan E. Arizona
  JOHNSON, Walter W. Colorado
  BOWLES, Chester Connecticut
  GARVEL, Elbert N. Delaware
  STEVENSON, Adlai E. Illinois
  SCHRICKER, Henry F. Indiana
  LANE, William P., Jr. Maryland
  SMITH, Forrest Missouri
  BONNER, John W. Montana
  PITTMAN, Vail Nevada
  MABRY, Thomas J. New Mexico
  SCOTT, W. Kerr North Carolina
  LAUSCHE, Frank J. Ohio
  TURNER, Roy J. Oklahoma
  PASTORS, John O. Rhode Island
  BROWNING, Gordon Tennessee
  BATTLE, John S. Virginia
  GRUENING, Ernest Alaska
  STAINBACK, Ingram H. Hawaii
3:10 pm Honorable Joseph D. Brennan, Counselor Irish Embassy
3:15 pm Senator Clinton Anderson, New Mexico
Honorable Thomas J. Mabry, Governor of New Mexico
Congressman John E. Miles, New Mexico
(Senator Clinton Anderson asked if he and Governor might come in with
Miles, who has just won Democratic nomination for Governor
of New Mexico)
3:30 pm Honorable William M. Boyle
(Usual weekly appointment)
8:00 pm The following joined the President at the Blair House:
Senator Tydings, Maryland
Senator McMahon, Connecticut
Senator Green, Rhode Island
The Vice President (Honorable Alben Barkley)
Honorable Sam Rayburn
Congressman McCormack, Massachusetts
The Attorney General (J. Howard McGrath)
Mr. Clark Clifford
Mr. Charles Murphy
Mr. Donald Dawson
Mr. Stephen Spingarn

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.