Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<May 1950 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Wednesday, May 24, 1950
10:00 am (Staff meeting)
11:00 am Mr. Dennis Duffy, President, National Newman Club Federation
Mr. Herman Neusch, International Vice President
Very Rev. Monsignor Jos. E. Schieder, Director
The Rev. Jos. Connerton, National Chaplain
Mr. John W. Lynch, Director, Public Relations
Cong. Ray J. Madden, Ill.
(National Newman Club Federation composed of Catholic
students in secular colleges in United States, Mexico,
Hawaii and Puerto Rico; take active interest in
European relief work, aiding Displace Persons, edu-
cational methods and social action techniques; at present
Federation is waging National Decent Literature Campaign.
On eve of their Mid-Century Convention in Cleveland, O.,
this delegation wishes to congratulate the President on
work he has done in first five years of office, express
their confidence in him and congratulate him on his Civil
Rights proposals, and receive personal message from
him to take to the Convention)
11:15 am Congressman Wayne L. Hays, Ohio
(To have picture taken with the President to be used in
a story to be run in his hometown paper called "A Day
in the Life of your Congressman". The President agreed
to do this when asked by the Congressman)
11:30 am General and Mrs. Ralph E. Truman
11:45 am Hon. Russell B. Adams, Member, Civil Aeronautics Board
(Called Mr. Connelly last week to ask for this)
12:00 pm Sir John Kotalawala, Minister for Transport and Works of
the Government of Ceylon
H.E. G.C.S. Corea, the Ambassador of Ceylon
(The Ambassador asked for this thru Mr. Woodward, who
said that State Department believes it would be help-
ful if the President could see Sir John since it is
possible he may become next Prime Minister of his country)
12:15 pm The President received the following delegation from the
  Ohio Farm Bureau:
  Mrs. Claude Albert, Lewisburg Howard Dresbach, Columbus
  Morris E. Allton, Columbus Edward E. Duncan, Dayton
  Mrs. Dorothy Babcock, Chardon Frank Engel, Millersburg
  Lyle Battles, Chesterland Mrs. Robert Fenwick, Chardon
  Mrs. H. O. Caldwell Roy Fletcher, Newcomerstown
  Mrs. Lee Allen Cole Mrs. Henry Garman, Hartville
  August Cordonnier Ray Hobson, Columbus
  Clifford Hoover, Bucyrus Mrs. Paul Schaller, Maumee
  Raymond Huck, Waterford Albert C. Sherer, Haverhill
  Mrs. Edwin A. King, Findlay Walter E. Schrader, Cincinnati
  Miss Eurie Loughridge, Granville Paul Secor, Perry
  Mrs. Ray Meiser, Bloomville Wayne H. Shidaker, Columbus
  Harold T. Miller Green Springs
  W. J. Mollenkopf, Maumee Mrs. Arthur Smith
  Galen Newcomer, Bryan Mrs. Paul Snider
  Mrs. Forest Parmiter, McConnelsville Walter Sollars
  William G. Pfaff, Swanton E. A. Spafford
  Mrs. Cecil Plumly, Barnesville Merle Stacy
  Mrs. F. N. Porter, Pedro Douglas R. Stanfield
  Mrs. Meade Pottenger, Harrison Rev. William Stauffer
  Kenneth N. Probasco, Columbus Mrs. Alvin Stuber
  Ralph Ratcliffe, Londonderry Elam Suter
  Mrs. Litta K. Roberson, Columbus Mrs. Roy Titus
  Mrs. Harold Robison, Ashtabula Mrs. Virgil Utz
  Andrew Rosbaugh, Berea Frank O. Van Sickle
  A. B. Ruckel, Medina Ralph Varian
  Ivan Wallace M. K. Wells
  Maurice C. Wieting Walter L. Williams
  Harold N. Wilson Mrs. James Wilson
  Clifford Wittmeyer Mrs. Clifford Wittmeyer
  W. Norton Woods Charles Wyckoff
12:20 pm [Public Papers: Remarks to a Group From the Ohio Farm Bureau]
12:30 pm Cong. Robert Crosser, Ohio
(Called Mr. Connelly last week to ask for this)
12:45 pm Senator Harley M. Kilgore, West Virginia
(Called Mr. Connelly last week to ask for this)
1:00 pm (LUNCH)
3:15 pm (Mr. Joe Healey)
(Rev. William Blacet)
(Mr. Byron Harter)
(Joe Healey asked Mr. Connelly if he might bring in
these people. OFF RECORD.)
3:30 pm Hon. William M. Boyle
(Usual weekly appointment)
3:35 pm (Bud Faris)
3:50 pm Secretary of the Interior [Oscar L. Chapman]
Dale E. Doty
Vernon D. Northrop
4:00 pm Hon. Pearl [Perle] Mesta, United States Minister to Luxembourg
(Phoned Mr. Connelly on Monday to ask for this)
4:15 pm (Dentist)
4:30 pm (The Attorney General [J. Howard McGrath])
(Peyton Ford)
6:25 pm (The President and Mrs. Truman left for Anderson House
where they attended a cocktail Party given by the Aides
at the White House)

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.