Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<April 1949 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Wednesday, April 6, 1949
9:30 am (Mr. Howell Crim)
(Mr. Lorenzo Winslow)
9:45 am Senator Millard E. Tydings, Md.
(Mr. Matthew Connelly called him and asked him come in)
10:00 am The President signed S. 790, "An Act to grant the
consent of the United States to the Upper Colorado
River Basin Compact." The following were present:
Senator Carl Hayden
Senator Ernest W. McFarland
Congresman John R. Murdock
Congressman Harold A. Patten
Senator Edwin C. Johnson
Senator Eugene D. Millikin
Congressman William S. Hill
Congressman John H. Marsalis
Congressman Wayne N. Aspinall
Congressman J. Hardin Peterson
Senator Dennis Chavez
Senator Clinton P. Anderson
Congressman Antonio M. Fernandez
Congressman John E. Miles
Senator Elbert D. Thomas
Senator Arthur V. Watkins
Congressman Walter K. Granger
Congresswoman Reva Beck Bosone
Senator Joseph C. O'Mahoney
Senator Lester C. Hunt
Congressman Frank A. Barrett
Mr. Michael Strauss, Bureau of Reclamation, Department of
(Secretary Julius A. Krug suggested that the President have a
ceremony and invite the Congressional Delegations
from States affected, Wyoming, Utah, Colorado,
New Mexico and Arizona.)
10:30 am Congressman Anthony F. Tauriello, N. Y.
Congressman Hugh J. Addonizio, N. J.
Congressman Peter W. Rodino, Jr., N. J.
Congressman Anthony Cavalcante, Pa.
Congressman L. Gary Clements, N. Y.
(Congressman Tauriello asked Mr. Matthew Connelly to arrange
for these Italian-American Congressmen to call on
the President to discuss Italian colonies)
11:00 am The President received the Members of the General
Advisory Committee of Atomic Energy Commission, as follows:
Dr. J. R. Oppenheimer
Dr. Oliver E. Buckley
Dr. James B. Conant
Dr. Lee A. Du Bridge
Dr. Enrico Fermi
Dr. Isidore Rabi
Dr. Hartley Rowe
Dr. Glen T. Seaborg
Dr. Cyril S. Smith
(Mr. Lilienthal thought as these men are Presidential
appointees, responsible directly to the President, and
are among best-known scientists in the world, that
would be good idea for him to see.)
11:15 am Dr. Edwin G. Nourse, Chairman, Council of Economic
Mr. Leon Keyserling
(Asked Mr. Matthew Connelly if he might come in with
monthly report)
11:30 am Mr. Chris L. Edell, National Commander, Army and Navy
Legion of Valor
Mr. James G. Walsh, National Senior Vice Commander
Mr. James F. Mannion, Past National Commander
(Edell wrote to the President asking if he might call
and pay respects)
11:45 am Honorable William C. Foster, Deputy Special Representative
of Economic Cooperation Administration Overseas
Honorable Paul Hoffman, Administrator, ECA
(Phoned Mr. Connelly on Monday to ask for this)
12:00 pm The President received the Officers of the Anit-Defamation
League of B'nai B'rith, who presented him with America's
Democratic Legacy Award:
The following officers were present:
Honorable Meier Steinbrink, Chairman
Mr. A. G. Gallenger, Vice Chariman
Mr. Max J. Schneider, Vice Chairman
Mr. Edmund Waterman, Chairman, Advisory Council
Mr. Bernard Nath, Chairman, Executive Committee
Mr. Benjamin R. Epstein, National Director
Mr. Nathan C. Belth, Public Relations Director
(Arranged through David Niles. The President has
been awarded the annual America's Demoncratic Legacy
Award of the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith,
for "His unyielding courage and leadership" in
behalf of civil rights. The President is sole recipient
of ADL award this year. Winners for 1949 were
Mrs. Eleanor Roosevelt, Barney Balaban, President
of Paramount Pictures, Charles E. Wilson, for work
as Chairman of the President's Committee on Civil Rights
and Dore Schary and Daryl Zanuck, motion picture
producers. Citation of this award will be made on
evening of April 6th, 9.30 EST on coast to coast
radio show, called "The Goal is Freedom". This will
be dramatic narration of turbulent course of civil rights
during 1948)
12:30 pm (Mr. Martin A. Lewis, Jr. of Springfield, Ill.)
(Wrote to Mr. Connelly that he would be here and
would like to see the President. Off the record)
1:00 pm (Lunch)
1:50 pm (The President left for the Reviewing Stand on Constitution
Avenue where he reviewed the Army Day Parade)
6:40 pm (The President left for the Carlton Hotel where he
attended buffet supper given for new Senators and
Congressmen (Democratic) of the 81st Congress.)
8:15 pm [Public Papers: Remarks to a Group of New Democratic Senators and Representatives]

Truman Photographs for April 6, 1949
Search photo database   |  See all photos for April 6th, 1949
Featured Photograph

President Harry S. Truman Reviews Army Day Parade

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.