Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<August 1947 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Wednesday, August 20, 1947
10:30 am (Colonel Hank Myers)
11:00 am (Mr. and Mrs. Edwin S. Pearlstine, Jr. and
three children)
11:30 am (Mr. Lewis T. Barringer)
11:45 am Honorable Wilson Wyatt
(Phoned Mr. Connelly yesterday for this appointment)
12:00 pm Honorable James W. Huffman, former Senator from Ohio
Mr. David A. Thomas
Mr. Ralph E. Roscoe
(Phoned Mr. Connelly from Ohio Monday to ask for
this appointment)
12:15 pm (Mr. George Killion)
(Came to see Mr. Connelly and see the President,
off the record)
12:30 pm The President presented the Medal for Merit to
Honorable David K. Niles in the rose garden.
This was a surprise for Mr. Niles and was not
announced in advance. The following guests
were invited to be present:
Acting Secretary Robert Lovett
Secretary John Snyder
Secretary Kenneth C. Royall
Secretary James Forrestal
Mr. George Allen
Mrs. Helen Almon
Mr. and Mrs. David L. Bazelon
Mr. William Benton
Mr. Clarence Berger
Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Capt
Dr. Robert K. Carr
Mr. Leo Cherne
Mr. Benjamin Cohen
Mr. Wallace Cohen
Mr. Oscar Cox
Mr. Jonathan Daniels
Mr. Eliahu Epstein
Mr. Herbert Fierat
Mr. Herman Greenberg
Congressman Jack Javitz
Mr. E. I. Kaufmann
Judge Richmond Keech
Mrs. Frances Kelly
Miss Freda Kirchwey
Mr. Edward Kook and wife
Mr. and Mrs. Leon Kowal
Dr. Isadore [Isador] Lubin
Mr. Robert Nathan
Mr. Louis Novins
Madame Frances Perkins
Mr. Jack Peurifoy
Mrs. Lillian Poses
Mr. Joseph Bauh
Commissioner George Schoeneman
Mr. Robert Sherwood
Mr. Paul Smith
Mr. William Weintraub
mr. Edward Wheeler
Mr. Walter White
Mr. Oscar Ewing
Mr. Louis P. Smith of Boston
The White House Staff
    [Public Papers: Citation Accompanying Medal for Merit Awarded to David K. Niles]
1:00 pm (Lunch)
3:00 pm Budget Seminar
(In Movie Theatre)
[Public Papers: Statement by the President on the Review of the 1948 Budget]
    [Public Papers: The President's News Conference on the Review of the Budget]

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.