Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<February 1946 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Wednesday, February 20, 1946
    [Public Papers: Statement by the President Concerning Provisions in Bill Affecting Philippine Army Veterans]
    [Public Papers: Statement by the President Upon Signing the Employment Act]
10:00 am Sen. George L. Radcliffe, Md.; Sen. Abe Murdock, Utah; Sen.
Joseph C. O'Mahoney, Wyo.; Sen. Elbert D. Thomas, Utah;
Sen. Wm. Langer, N.D.; Sen. George D. Aiken, Vt.; Cong.
Wright Patman, Tex.; Cong. Geo. E. Outland, California;
Cong. Geo. H. Bender, Ohio; Cong. Wm. H. Whittington, Miss.;
Cong. Carter Manasco, Ala.
(The President will sign the FULL EMPLOYMENT BILL - S 380)
10:30 am The Secretary of State [James F. Byrnes]; The Secretary of War [Robert P. Patterson]; The Secretary of the Navy
[James Forrestal]; Gen. Thomas T. Handy; Admiral Louis E. Denfeld;
Gen. Carl Spaatz.
(Appointment arranged through Secretary of War - to discuss
Army and Navy pay)
11:00 am Dr. Norman V. Peale, Collegiate Marble Church, New York;
Rabbi Gustave Falk, New York Federation of Reform Synagogues;
Mr. Gordon Chamberlain, representing Dr. Roswell Barnes of the
Federal Council of Churches of Christ in America; Rabbi
Herbert Goldstein, President of the Synagogue Council of
America; Most Rev. William R. Arnold, Military Ordinariate,
New York; Dr. Robert W. Searle, Director, Greater New York
Federation of Churches; Dr. Earl Adams, Exec. Sec., Protestant
Council, New York; Rev. Paul T. Tanner, Asst. Gen. Sec., National
Catholic Welfare Conference, Washington, D.C.; Rev. Frederick
B. Harris, Chaplain of the Senate.
(To discuss the returning veteran's problems and how the
church can be of assistance in housing, etc.)
11:30 am (Col. August A. Busch, Jr.; Mr. Anthony A. Buford) OFF RECORD
12:00 pm Honorable James McGranery
(Requested appointment)
12:15 pm Governor Herbert H. Lehman
12:30 pm Cong. John J. Sparkman, Ala.; Cong. Leonard Allen, La.;
Cong.George Andrews, Ala.; Cong. Jos. Bryson, S.C.;Cong. Eugene Cox,
Ga.;Cong. Robert Doughton, N.C.;Cong. Harold Earthman, Tenn.;
Cong. John Gibson, Ga.;Cong. George Grant, Ala.; Cong. Sam Hobbs, Ala.; Cong. Henry Larcade, La.; Cong. Chas. McKenzie, La.;
Cong. John McMillan, S.C.; Cong. James Morrison, La.;Cong.Tom Murray, Tenn.; Cong. John Rankin, Miss.;Cong. John Riley,S.C.;
Cong. Mendall Rivers, S.C.;Cong. Bob Sikes, Fla.; Cong. Robert Slaughter, Mo.; Cong. Zebulon Weaver, N.C.; Cong. Compton
White, Idaho; Cong. John Wood, Ga.; Cong. Orville Zimmerman, Mo.;
Cong. John E. Fogarty, R.I.; Cong. J. Vaughan Gary, Va.
(Came in in the interest of Congressman Frank Boykin for appointment as Secretary of the Interior)
1:00 pm (Lunch)
3:30 pm The Secretary of Agriculture [Clinton P. Anderson]
5:00 pm The Postmaster General [Robert E. Hannegan]

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.