Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<December 1945 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Thursday, December 20, 1945
    [Public Papers: Letter to Senator Wagner and Representative Manasco Concerning the Full Employment Bill]
    [Public Papers: Letter to Dr. Isaiah Bowman on Federal Assistance for Scientific Research]
10:00 am The President will sign the Reorganization Bill in presence
of following invited guests: Sen. Pat McCarran, Nev.;
Sen. Abe Murdock, Utah; Cong. William Whittington, Miss.;
Hon. Lindsay C. Warren; Sen. Harry F. Byrd, Va.; Cong. Carter
Manasco, Ala.; Hon. Harold D. Smith
[Public Papers: Statement by the President Upon Signing the Reorganization Act of 1945]
10:15 am Mr. James E. Barnes
(Of Todd Shipyards, asked for two minutes)
10:30 am The Secretary of the Interior [Harold L. Ickes]
(Asked for this appointment)
10:45 am The British Ambassador; Admiral Sir Henry Ruthven Moore.
(Moore is new head of British Admiralty delegation in
U.S., replacing Admiral Sir James Somerville - was lately
Commander in Chief of the British Home Fleet)
11:00 am Mr. Joseph Davidson, Adjutant, National Press Club Post No. 20,
American Legion; Mr. W.W. Wheeler; Mr. Carter Brooke Jones;
Mr. Harry E. Radcliffe; Mr. Sotorios Nicholson; Mr. Eddie
Lewis; Mr. Paul McGhee.
(They invited the President to their monthly meeting on
December 18th, and he was unable to attend - so they are
bringing over the scroll which they had intended presenting
to him then. Scroll is presented as the President is first
Legionnair to hold office of the President of the U.S.)
11:15 am Rear Admiral Earle W. Mills, Assistant Chief of Bur. of Ships
(Arranged through Admiral William D. Leahy)
11:30 am Miss Dorothy Thompson; Mr. Ely Culbertson
(Arranged by Mr. Robert Hannegan)
12:00 pm Hon. Herschel V. Johnson, American Minister to Sweden
(In this country and wants to see the President)
12:30 pm Hon. Dean Acheson, Acting Secretary of State
1:00 pm (Lunch)
4:00 pm Press and Radio Conference [Public Papers]

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.