Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<January 1946 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Monday, January 21, 1946
    [Public Papers: Message to the Congress on the State of the Union and on the Budget for 1947]
10:00 am Honorable Kenneth McKellar, Tenn.; Sen. Lister Hill;
Congressman John McCormack, Mass; Hon. Alben Barkley, Ky.
11:00 am Major General Philip B. Fleming
(He asked for a half hour)
11:45 am Honorable Robert H. Hinckley, Director of Contracts
Settlement, Office of War Mobilization and Reconversion
12:00 pm Mr. Nathan Feinsinger; Mr. James M. Douglas; Mr. Roger
I. McDonough.
12:30 pm Honorable Dean Acheson, Acting Secretary of State
1:00 pm (Lunch)
3:00 pm The President awarded Selective Service Medal authorized
by Congress to representative of each State, Dist. of
Columbia, Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, Hawaii and Alaska -
ceremonies held in East Room of White House. Delegates
as follows: Matthew M. Marshall; John P. Van Denburgh;
M.S. Smith; Charles H. Brous; C.H. Randall; William J.
Dodd; William F. Longendyke; Woodruff Youngs; Harry Wilderman;
Walter E. Whitehead; William L. Teel; George Funk; Michael
A. Zahoran; Geo. C. Whitmer; H.P. Bader; William Marcum, Sr.;
Noel Herbert; Ralph H. Trecartin; Anthony V. Rettaliata;
George G. Graham; Charles W. Hayner; Sigurd J. Rice; W.A.
Lambert; A.R. McKee; Herbert W. Conrad; Hiyo Aden; Richard
J. Elmore; Robert Rich; John H. Hoagland; Horace Moses;
Robert M. Colt; Fred E. Johnson; Paul W. English; Alfred
Thorson; James R. Favret; J.R. Couch; O.C. Gibbs; John
Reynolds; Marcus Sutcliffe; Ben C. Hough; Arnold Schreiber;
L.H. McDill; T.W. Borders; William Rees; George N. Harman;
Thomas Coates; Ray Johnson; John A.B. Holt; Edward J.
Wozniak; Henry J. Bolln; Leon Urbach; Henry K. Kellner;
Francisco Fernandez Colon; J. Antonio Jarvis.
3:55 pm Mr. Samuel W. Fordyce; (Hon. John Snyder); (Hon. Harold
D. Smith)

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.