Harry S. Truman Presidential Library & Museum

Daily Appointments
of Harry S. Truman

<<May 1951 >>
Jump to date
Search the calendar
Enter keyword:
Limit by Year
To    :

Limit results per page
To use this calendar select the month and year you would like information about and press View Calendar. Then choose the date in that month and year, and the page will load for you.

You can also search by keyword and choose the range of years within your search by filling out the boxes on the left side of the page.

This Presidential Appointments Calendar is based upon the records contained in the
Matthew J. Connelly Files

Saturday, May 19, 1951
10:15 am (The President left for the reviewing stand to review the
Armed Forces Day Parade)
11:45 am Honorable Warren H. Austin, U.S. Representative to the United Nations
and Representative in the Security Council
(Asked for this thru Mr. Hassett)
12:00 pm The President presented the Medal of Honor to:
First Lieutenant Carl H. Dodd, USA
Master Sergeant Ernest R. Kouma, USA
Sergeant John A. Pittman, USA
The following were also present:
Fireman James K. Kouma, USA (brother)
Mrs. Libbie I. Dodd, Anderson, Indiana (wife)
Mr. and Mrs. Edgar W. Pittman, Tallula, Mississippi (father and mother)
Mr. Charles E. Pittman, Tallula, Mississippi (brother)
From the Department of the Army:
Honorable George C. Marshall, Secretary of Defense, and Mrs. Marshall
Honorable Archibald B. Alexander, Under Secretary of the Army
and Mrs. Alexander
General Wade H. Haislip, Vice Chief of Staff, and Mrs. Haislip
Colonel John R. Beishline, White House Liaison Officer and
Mrs. Beishline
Colonel E. A. Williams, Military District of Washington
Colonel Paul Freeman, Chief of Information
Lt. Colonel C.W. Rogers, Adjutant General's office, and Mrs. Rogers
Lt. Colonel A. J. Rehe, Adjutant General's Office
Major Wilfred D. Petit
Mr. Ernest Sabota
Mr. Norman Horacek
Mr. and Mrs. James Kabourek
Miss Martha Kabourek
Major and Mrs. E. C. Stark
Family Group Guides:
Captain H. P. Levely (Group Leader)
Captain H. C. Hanna
Captain L. J. Reinholz
Captain R. A. Lehman
Members of Congress:
Senator Hugh Butler, Nebraska
Congressman Karl Stefan, Nebraska
Congressman Frank E. Smith, Mississippi
Senator Earle Clements, Kentucky
Congressman James S. Golden, Kentucky
Honorable Lawrence W. Weatherby, Kentucky
12:45 pm The Duke of Harar
(Second son of Emperor Haile Selassie of Ethiopia. His name is Masfin
Makonnen and is known as Duke Makonnen. Official position is that of
Governor of the Province of Harar. Is married and has young son and
daughter and is making pleasure trip to the United States with wife.
H.E. Ras H.S. Imru, Ambassador of Ethiopia
Honorable John Simmons, Chief of Protocol, Dept. of State
1:00 pm (LUNCH)

Truman Photographs for May 19, 1951
Search photo database   |  See all photos for May 19th, 1951
Featured Photograph

Truman at Armed Services Day Parade

The creation of this online resource was made possible in part by funding from the William T. Kemper Foundation - Commerce Bank, Trustee.